Yin at the Down Dog


This class is taught by:

Suzie Atkin

In 2006, due to the nudging of a good friend, I haphazardly stumbled into a 6-week Kundalini Yoga workshop. I had no idea why we were doing weird breathing exercises and making odd noises, but I was fascinated and intrigued. It was such a different experience from my fast paced, stress filled life where it was easier to keep moving then to sit, be still and be with what was there. And I clearly wasn’t ready. For years afterward I took the harder path: climbing ladders, never stopping, burning out.

And then, as it happens, tragedy struck. As Elizabeth Lesser puts it: “Some of us need a cataclysmic event to find our way toward ‘the center of our own existence’”. So when I finally came back to Yoga, it was with a deep need for healing. And through that healing I have found my Wholeness, which, for me, is finding joy in every bit of this life experience. There is no question that life has difficulty. And yet, through continually cultivating awareness and equanimity, we become able to, as Buddha says, “rest like a giant tree in the midst of it all”. I’m grateful for the beautiful, simple technology of Yoga to expand my perspective and chip away at the calcification of life’s conditioning so I can see clearly and respond from a place of centeredness and love. And it is from this place of love that I humbly share this knowledge and experience with others. Because, truly, we are all connected and in this together. - Namaste.

Off the mat, Suzie enjoys mountain biking and cycling, adventures in the woods, cuddling with her dog, and spending time with family and friends.

 

ROOM TEMPERATURE ~  Slow paced style of yoga with postures that are held for longer periods of time. Yin yoga is a different way of stretching, as the practice helps lubricate the joints vs. stretching the belly of the muscle. Great for all levels.

Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Dec 15 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Dec 22 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Dec 29 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Jan 05 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Jan 12 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Jan 19 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Jan 26 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Feb 02 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Feb 09 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Feb 16 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Feb 23 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Mar 02 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Mar 09 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Mar 16 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Mar 23 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Mar 30 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin
  • Fri Apr 06 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Suzie Atkin


icon_email

 grow.yogastory@gmail.com

icon_facebook  icon_instagram  icon_pinterest  icon_twitter   email
copyright © 2015-2017  |